Farmhouse

Farmhouse House Plans Under 2000 Square Feet (Or Relatively Close)

Wouldn’t you just love to escape to your very own piece of land with that perfect pitched tinned-roof, white farmhouse? I dream of leaving this crazy world and going to a farm sometimes, tucked far away from everything….with kittens, barn animals, and all. Well, until that happens, I can plan and dream. Here are a few of my favorite farmhouse house plans all under 2,000 square feet (or at least relatively close). Why only 2000 square feet you may ask….? Well, because let’s face it, after buying land, animals, and building costs, a modest, cozy farmhouse is really all I can afford, and in reality, all this family of 5 really needs.

farmhouse-house-plans-2

When I was searching through tons and tons of house plans, I wanted at least 4 bedrooms or house plans where a dining room could serve as a fourth bedroom. Because we don’t  need a formal dining room, a covered outdoor patio could fit our needs for another eating space or a more formal one, if desired. I’m good with an eat-in kitchen or at least a kitchen where a large island could work. Another must is two separate hang out spaces…one for adults and one for kids.

Here are the winners….

farmhouse house plans

At 1701 square feet, I love the layout of this house. It’s so beautiful….a little more colonial, but I think if you used more farmhouse materials…i.e. tin roof, white siding, white brick, etc…this could be a great farmhouse. The porches make this Family Home Plans a winner. The dining room would be turned into another gathering room. If I had to, we would make an outdoor eating space next to the grilling porch.

First Level:

farmhouse house plans

Second Level:

farmhouse house plans

I absolutely love this country charmer from Architectural Designs. At 1573 square feet and an optional bonus room, we’d have enough space for everyone. The dining room could easily be a fourth bedroom, or a hang  out area for adults, or a formal living room. The welcoming porch makes this a great contender.

farmhouse house plans

First Level:

8320dc_f1

Second Level:

8320dc_b

Here’s another, from Southern Living. I love the clean lines, yet classic style this next farmhouse offers. At 1647 square feet, this cozy, little house has huge impact.

farmhouse plan

First Level:

farmhouse plan

Second Level:

farmhouse plan

I think this next farmhouse also from Southern Living has great separation for adult life and kids’ space. Everyone has their own separate areas, so this one is a true consideration with 1802 sq. feet.

farmhouse plan

First Level:

original-3

Second Level:

original-2

This farmhouse with 1927 square feet also from Southern Living offers that kind of charm I picture alongside acres and acres of fields. Wouldn’t you love to sip on some homemade lemonade on that porch? I’d nix the dining room and make it a grown up hang out area, and move a second eating area outside…but that’s just crazy, old me.

modern farmhouse

First Level:

original-5

Second Level:

original-4

This Southern Living house plan offers 1995 square feet, and has plenty of space for everyone to stretch out. The dining room, again, I would turn into a formal living room, but with the hang out area for the kids upstairs, I really wouldn’t have to. This plan has so many options and possibilities.

traditional farmhouse

First Level:

original-7

Second Level:

original-6

Oh my…I think this next Southern Living plan has so much character and interest. With a guest cottage and wrap around porches, I’m in love. At 1735 square feet, this is nearly perfect…except there is no garage. Maybe I could do without….maybe…..

original-6

First Level:

original-8

Second Level:

original-9

Family Home Plans offers this great French country option. Maybe a little too formal for some, but I love French country elements. With  1674 square feet, it has everything and won’t break the bank to build.

d464f269c02347d8156cf55d15a7f90d

First Level:

67146-1l

Second Level:

The Chinaberry from Southern Living also offers sophisticated farmhouse style with classic design and 2099 square feet. So we went a little bit over…but this house is stunning. What’s another 99 square feet?

original-1

First Level:

original

Second Level:

original-1

Southwood from Southern Living offers a great floor plan….also a little over 2000 square feet at 2018. When I think of farmhouse…this is exactly what comes to mind.

farmhouse ideas

First Level:

original-3

Second Level:

original-4

I hope these ideas inspire you to move to the farm too. The only problem is picking just one. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a great and blessed day!

Leave a Reply

